Oppps! I missed a dosage, what do I do?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mtkayak

Forgot to take my dosage last night? Skip it or take it later? Now my INR will be all whacky! I'm taking 5mg MWFSS and 7.5mg TT. I'm at work and have no access to my Coumadin, I will defintely bring some to work after this. I usually take it between 9:00-11:00 at night. I won't have access to it till 7:00 tonight. What do I do? What are the consequences to this, if any? I'm new at this, only been taking it for 4 months and haven't missed a dose yet.

Thanks in advance!

Another human! You can either not worry about it and just resume your schedule or you can try to divide up the missed dosed over the remaining days along with your usual dose. Just don't test for 2 weeks.

:eek: :eek: :eek: You did WHAT????? :eek: :eek: :eek:

I would NEVER do that!:D :D

If I completely miss a dose, I divide it up over 2 or 3 days.

If your INR has been in the middle of your range or higher, taking 10 tonight (as Al says) should cover you well. If your INR has been at the lower portion, if it were me, I'd take 10 tonight and 7.5 tomorrow night. Just split that 5 pill in half and you'd be good to go for both nights.

Thanks guys, what would I do without you ! :) My INR last week was 3.2 right in the middle of my range. Target is 3.0-3.5 I will take 10 mg tonight then. Thanks again!!!!

No matter which option you choose, you will probably have the same outcome - nothing bad happens. If we live close enough to the edge that forgetting one dose or taking one extra dose causes a disaster, we are probably doomed anyhow.

I use a 7 day pill box AND a 31 day chart to record ALL my medications. Even with those aids, I typically miss a couple of doses per year. If I catch the missed (evening dose) the next morning, I just take that missed dose in the morning.