Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scott

Hello all.
I have been viewing these posts for months now and just wanted to say thanks for letting me gain the knowledge and insite. I have been freeking out about my condition for about 10 months now. I went in for a check up and found out I have a bicuspid aortic valve with severe reguritation. I am 44, 5'8" 136 lbs. No symptoms. I had high cholestoral (genetic). I'm on simvastat now. I went back 6 months later and now it's moderate regurgitation. I tell you what. Trying to decide on a doctor, a hospital, and a valve on top of dealing with all of the other issues is more than I can take at times. I have to call for my next echo in a few weeks. I live in the atlanta area. I am leaning toward the on-x valve when it's time. I am with Piedmont right now, but I am thinking of going with Emory. Dr Guyton is supposed to be very good. If anyone can give me any pointers on how to choose it would be great. They all say they are the best. So far I think that denial is working best for me.
Thanks, Scott

Hey Scott, welcome to the waiting room.

Sounds like you found the forum early which is a good thing. By the sounds of it you may not be up to Bat for awhile, your condition is not severe just yet. I cannot help you with advice on any of these doctors but I am sure you will be comfortable with your choice by the time you do need surgery with your preparation. For me, they are all good to get to where these surgeons have in there lives. I found it hard to find any information on surgeons, it was my first question I asked when I came on this forum.

It is hard to stay calm, you are a young guy and it sounds like you have been monitoring your health well so statistically you should do very well. Keep reading and asking questions, good luck.
Jeff

G

Scott -