How is your mood after OHS , was anxiety a problem before OHS

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WandaW

Good evening all,
I work as a Rehab therapist and see the the mood changes in my clients, they are more tearful, flat affect, not quite depressed but looks like it quite often. Many talk about anxiety being a part of their lives before OHS and now that I have been through OHS almost 8 weeks ago I have struggeled with the mood changes. I am curious if anyone else has. Ok, I am really checking to see if all these different feelings are "normal" for this recovery process.

I was a bit anxious before but not to the point where it was debilitating ... post-op was a bit more stressful ... I had a few bumps in the road (nothing uncommon) but just when I would get over one little obstacle another one popped up almost immediately ... left me feeling a bit venerable ... but once the speed bumps were gone my mood and state of mind returned to normal pretty quickly....

I didn't have much time between discovery of the aneurysm and the surgery, so I didn't have too much anxiety prior. I was very busy trying to figure out my options, where to get it done, when to get it done, etc. After the surgery I have had anxiety off and on, and it is frustrating.

I just realized a few days ago that I am watching for something to be wrong still. I am going through my day, acting 'normal' for all intents. However, I catch myself listening to my heart (mechanical, so I can hear it) and watching for it either going too fast, too slow, pounding, etc. I don't know why I am doing this, and it would be a lot easier if I just accepted it and went on, but so far I haven't been able to shake it. I don't know if anyone else has encountered this, but that is how my anxiety is manifesting itself.