heart rate and blood pressure

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brunoandbear

I am fighting a fever and a virus right now with my aneurysm. I am taking 25 mg of Toporol and I can not get my heart rate to stay below 100 and my blood pressure is around 140/72. Can I double up on my toporol to increase the effect? This is my first time taking it and it really has not done much - I am still wide awake and not drowsy like it is supposed to make you feel.

I wouldn't play with the dosage without checking with your doctor even'though you are on a pretty low dose of Metoprolol. I am on 150mg/day but am moving the dosage down, hopefully to none, under doctor supervision. I can't say I have found myself drowsy on the med - a little dizzy and lightheaded on occaision only. Don't play around with the dose without checking.
Cameron

I second Cameron's advice to Consult with your Doctor First.

That said, 25mg is a pretty low dose.
It worked for me several years ago until I needed to change to another med for a different issue.

One Cardiologist told me that 100mg of Toprol is the "Minimum Theraputic Dose".
A *different* Cardio worked with me to find the optimum dose for ME.

If you are concerned tonight, you could place a telephone call to whoever is "on call" for your Cardio tonight.

I've called two different hospitals and two different surgeon teams, nobody is on call. :(

My heart rate has dropped to 90 and my blood pressure was 107/68 a few minutes ago. The strange thing with this fever is I don't feel sick.

Has your HR just gone up since your fever? Justin' has a low HR but always goes up when he gets a fever

ps I agree I wouldn't take extra meds without talking to your doctor

I've called two different hospitals and two different surgeon teams, nobody is on call. :(