Diarrohea, Glucosamine and omega 3

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bad Mad

I'm just new to the whole warafrin thing (6 weeks post op) and hope to learn lots from all of you who have tons of experience.

The thing is: For this past 2 days I have had a Diarrohea Bug as soon as I get up in the morning and early afternoon. Then it seems to settle. :eek:
I know it's a pretty "crap" situation :D

I got my INR checked this morn but won't get the result until tomorrow morn.
What sort of effect is this likely to have on my INR?
The Doc I spoke to by phone said it will lower it because the warafrin is being flushed out of my system. I argued that perhaps it will make it go higher because the Vit. K is also being flushed out. All he could say was: I never thought of that!!

The other thing that struck me was that, I've just started taking Glucosamine sulphate and Omega 3 again.
So off he headed to look up some british medical website that told him both of these things can interact with, and enhance the effects of Warafrin!!

Can anyone verify this, or does anyone take these substances?

He told me based on what he was reading, I should stop taking them both.

It will be interesting to see what my INR is tomorrow. :eek:

You're doing ok

You're doing ok

Bad Mad,

You are right about the Vit K. Usually with diarrhea (sp) your INR will rise. The vit K is being flushed out of your intestines but the warfarin is still being absorbed by the liver. Don't panic...wait and see.

Most importantly...you really should get your results the same day. They don't mean much the next day because you will have already taken another dose of warfarin. Ask your Doc if there's any way you can get same day results...they don't make diabetics wait...why us?