AS vs Regurgitation vs insuffiency?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

starkone

Hi All,
As long as I have had the AS problem, I still do not understand
what is the difference between AS, regurg, and insuffieciency?
Do they all go hand in hand? Can you have one without the other? Which one is worse to have?
Also, say,valve opening has been designated at .8, with no regurg or insuff, also no symptoms. Some have stated that this size valve in indicative of surgery? Why, if no other probs?
Thanks for any techno help that you can provide.
Karen

Hi Karen,
I'm no expert at these things, being fairly new to it myself. I do know, though, that aortic stenosis is a thickening of the leaflets and/or narrowing of the aortic valve opening, while regurgitation (same as insufficiency, I think) is a leakage backward while the valve is supposed to be closed. They are sometimes found in the same valve if the thickening isn't allowing normal opening or normal closure. Sometimes in cases of aortic stenosis the pressure of the outflow of the narrowed valve also causes mitral regurgitation because it just overpowers the ability of the mitral valve to hold it back. This combination is what I have.

As for the valve opening, I can't give you a definitive answer. Maybe others can, but I have heard that different doctors have different decision points for asymptomatic patients like you and me. At last echo my valve area was said to be 1.0 cm squared, not yet into the decision zone. I'm seeing another cardio in a couple of weeks for another opinion, too.

Hope this helps. I'm sure others will chime in and complete the picture.

Stenosis refers to "a narrowing or constriction" per my medical dictionary (very helpful in interpreting test results). This typically results from calcification of the Valve Leaflets which limits the *opening area* of the valve.