As one who home tests, do you ever go the lab for testing?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bdryer

Hi

Norm got me thinking after one of his posts on the On-X study thread. He posed the question of, why I prefer to not see a PCP regarding my INR results. I would like to limit responses to this thread to people like me, those required to be on warfarin for life. Although I must thank Norm for guiding me with the question of, "As one who home tests, do you ever go to the lab for testing?

I am comfy with my CoaguCheck XS. I use the on-line calculator from this site. So far any adjustments made by the local anti-coagulation clinic were mirrored by the on-line calculator. I was released several weeks ago from the clinic as I am now stable. They passed me off to a PCP. I have no experience sampling his ability to set my INR. I have been considering simply home testing and adjusting as required on my own. Being a techy, I am more then aware that testing equipment requires calibration. Hence, I will go to the lab say semi-annually and do a side by side comparison. Eventually my PCP will be involved as the lab only sends the results to qualified professionals.

My question stands,"As one who home tests, do you ever go to the lab for testing"? I want to discover if competency with home testing and reliability of a modern device, can totally eliminate the lab.

Thx

I have been home testing for approximately 18 months, and no, I never go back to the lab or my cardiologist's office for retesting. My cardiologist completely agrees with this. My experience is that after you have tested for a while, you know immediately upon testing whether you are in range, and whether a change in medication is merited.

I have been home testing for over 11 years.

I do go to the lab on occasion, (once per year), to have them run a test.