What makes a Top Doctor/Hospital???

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What makes a Top Doctor/Hospital???

• Total voters

Mike C

Many times people ask VR.Com for referrals to the top doctors. When making referrals, I am interested in others opinions on the following question.

For you, How do you determine what makes a top doctor/hospital?

I work in healthcare and am looking to do outcomes research and a recent post linked the two for me. By outcomes research, I basically mean developing a scientifically defensible approach to document why a patient should come here (we dont do hearts) over a competitor.

I screwed up and voted once, so I went in and changed the poll to reflect my last two choices.

My husband selected a surgeon who was local for us. We are blessed with this absolutely fantastic surgeon, Dr. Harry DePan. He operated on Joe three times, two valve surgeries, and one lung surgery. All were exceptional in the care given, the end result and the problem free recoveries. Couldn't have asked for a nicer surgeon with great credentials.

It was so nice to be able to drive for 20 minutes to see the surgeon.

Joe's first surgery was in Boston, in the 70's. There were few surgeons doing valves then. Traveling three to four hours was tough and expensive.

Mike C said:
Many times people ask VR.Com for referrals to the top doctors. When making referrals, I am interested in others opinions on the following question.

For you, How do you determine what makes a top doctor/hospital?

I work in healthcare and am looking to do outcomes research and a recent post linked the two for me. By outcomes research, I basically mean developing a scientifically defensible approach to document why a patient should come here (we dont do hearts) over a competitor.