Valve Selection Questions

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kcamarata

I am 44 years old and just scheduled my aortic valve replacement for the 29th of this month. I am active. I run, hike, fish, hunt, and tackle the occasional construction project. I am an Architect, so my days are often spent in an office environment. I also have three daughters ages 5, 11 and 16 (I mention it because they keep me busy too). I was leaning tissue because I don't like having to be on blood thinners for the rest of my life. Unfortunately, that also means that I would be electing to have more surgeries down the road. I just read through another thread that seemed overwhelmingly mechanical biased and started wondering what peoples experiences were on blood thinners. What can you do? What can't you do? For example, I like to drink the occasional beer with my colleagues and was considering making my first batch of elderberry wine this fall. What about your general diet? How do you manage / balance your food to make sure that you don't throw things out of wack? Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!