Target inr levels

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TomD

I have been doing home testing for about 9 months and love it. I use Excel to record results and plot the changes. I make my own decisions on dosing because what the doctor's nurse recommends usually is dead wrong. My question is to target INR level. My surgeon from Stanford said that with my operation I only need to target a INR range of 1.5 to 2.0. My cardiologist says I should try to stay in the 2.5 -3.5 level. Per Stanford, the fact that I had a valve and aorta replacement, which is one fully connected device, the chances of a clot are remote and therefore a INR of 1.5 to 2.0 is more then adequate. (Plus I take 81mg aspirin per day). In general, I stay at about 1.8 to 2.2. Anybody have this dilemma?

I have been doing home testing for about 9 months and love it. I use Excel to record results and plot the changes. I make my own decisions on dosing because what the doctor's nurse recommends usually is dead wrong. My question is to target INR level. My surgeon from Stanford said that with my operation I only need to target a INR range of 1.5 to 2.0. My cardiologist says I should try to stay in the 2.5 -3.5 level. Per Stanford, the fact that I had a valve and aorta replacement, which is one fully connected device, the chances of a clot are remote and therefore a INR of 1.5 to 2.0 is more then adequate. (Plus I take 81mg aspirin per day). In general, I stay at about 1.8 to 2.2. Anybody have this dilemma?

Generally people who are not on ACT will have an INR of around 1.1
I've never heard of a surgeon giving a range of 1.5 to 2.0 for any valve operation. It sounds crazy and dangerous.
(no offence to your surgeon)
When I went home postop, my first home test was 1.9 and I was shipped right back to the hospital for Lovenox shots to protect me for 2 days.