Recommendation for a home kit.

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi Roger,

I can only advise from personal experience but I really like my CoaguChek XS. I've been using it now for about 4 months and am very happy with it.

Jeff

I would go with the INRatio (I have it and love it - so simple) or the Coaguchek XS (similar to the INRatio)

I had the ProTime for my first home machine. I as grateful for the convenience of home testing but it is harder to test on than the other 2, it's twice the size and has an internal battery, which I and several other, had problems with.

The INRatio runs off AA batteries.

I use INRatio and find it very reliable/accurate, easy to use, and it is easy to take when traveling. It is leased from Raytel, a company in Ct.
My surgeon told me that at home INR testing is probobaly the most important thing for reducing the risk of anti-coagulants.
Good luck! I am sure that whatever machine you use will be fine as long as you use it on a regular basis.
Allan

Thanks everyone for your input!

After some research (and your recommendations) I've about settled on the INRatio system.

Roger:

The INRatio is very easy to use.
I got mine 5 months ago, after using a ProTime 3 for 4+ years. I wanted a smaller machine, with user-replaceable batteries. I passed my ProTime 3 onto a friend whose insurance company refused to cover an INR machine.

Roger:

If my INR results are in range for several tests, I lengthen the test intervals.

I took my INRatio to work Thursday, did my test in the a.m. It was 3.1. My previous test was 4 weeks ago and it was 3.5. If I had dropped down toward 2.5, I would have decided to do another INR within 7 days to determine if I was holding steady or was in a downward trend. At 3.5 and 3.1, I'm in good range for a mitral valver.