Newbie here :D

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heyrebekah

Hello all, I just started posting yesterday and thought I should introduce myself. I've known about my BAV my whole life, but about a year ago found out about an aneurysm too, when I went to consult with my cardiologist about getting pregnant. I have a valve measurement of 1.1 with severe regurgitation and an aneurysm of 4.4 cm.

My doc basically told me that my condition isn't severe enough for surgery. Yet severe enough that I should never try to get pregnant. Talk about a catch-22. And then she said even after surgery she would discourage me because I would be so high risk! :mad:

So we waited another 6 months and did some follow up tests, which came back exactly the same as before. But this time she consulted with a surgeon who decided it is time to go in fix everything at once. He is totally optimistic that with a tissue valve I may be able to get pregnant in as little as 8 months after surgery! I feel like I've been given a whole new life. :) But I'm pissed at my cardiologist for wasting so much time. I'll be 32 next month, and I think she would have just said "wait and see" until I hit menopause.

Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself. I'm still getting 2nd opinions from a few different surgeons and I'll probably try to schedule surgery for late April or May.

Too bad you didn't find the site sooner. Someone here would've prodded you to get another opinion some time ago.

It's fairly common for women of childbearing age to opt for a tissue valve to get them through pregnancies, often later going for a mechanical. There are some few who have gone through pregnancies on mechanical valves as well, but it takes some discipline and it does have some added risks for both mom and the baby associated with the anticoagulation therapy (ACT).