New looking for advice

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

Roosty

Hi

I am new here and looking for some help. I am 47 and have a BAV with 2+ regurg and a mildly dilated root of 42mm. The root seems to have been pretty stable over the past ten years. I had a CT angio done 18 months ago that showed the root to be fusiform at 42X39mm. I am 5'10 and 170 pounds. I also have Mitral Valve Prolapse that has been stable over the past 10 years. I read all these accounts of people who had dissections at relatively low aortic root diameters and of course it freaks me out. I am very healthy in general and can exercise normally.

On top of all this I am a family Doctor and I know all the complications! Sometimes knowledge is a dangerous thing. Anyway, just wanted to say hi to the group and thanks!

Hi Roosty and welcome to the forums or the insane asylum, whichever or however you look at it.

Yes I bet it does suck to know these things from your prospective. I'm a rupture survivor myself. Mine never made it to the magic 5.0 and blew around 4.7. I now have an abdominal that were watching and I have to say I don't care how big it is, I want it gone!

Welcome to the site; glad you found it. When I had my bicuspid replaced, my mitral valve began working much better and didn't need repair or replacement afterall, which had been discussed as a possibility.

Hoping all goes well for you :) .

Rootsy, my diameter is 4.2-4.5ish too. Scares the crap out of me, and I've pretty much decided I'm going to wait until at least 09. Unless something crazy happens.

What's a regurgitation of +2? If your valve is bad enough, it might just be logical to go in now and get everything fixed all at once. Even with a "modest" aneurysm.