My Story

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doncy

I am very new to this ... just found out that I need OHS on my BAV that is now .8cm2.

I have always known that I had a heart murmur but never thought much about it.

Was never tested for it until this year.

I am 55 and in May I was told I could not go under anesthesia for a routine colonoscopy that the murmur sounded too bad or loud.

Did an echo.
Did a persantine cardiolite stress test
cardiac catheterization July 8
Surgery approx 2-3 weeks after that

I will be having my surgery in St. Mary's Hospital Kitchener with Dr. Yves LeClerc being the surgeon.

Does anyone know of that doctor? hospital?

I have been sick for the last month with the shingles, started to get chest pain shortly after I did the stress test.

Was admitted to hospital because they thought it was heart related. After about 5 days the blisters appeared. It has been a rough month but feeling better day by day.
I wouldn't wish it on anyone.

I am like the rest very nervous, scared but wanting to get it done and behind me.

Thanks for listening

Nancy

Nancy, you could not ask for a kinder more caring talented surgeons and facilities , a heart felt WELCOME to our OHS family glad you found the site most of the community are OHS brothers and sisters, there are some minimally invasive so ask away, there is a wealth of knowledge here for the future .....

Bob/tobagotwo has up dated a list of acronyms and short forms http://www.valvereplacement.org/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=8494&d=1276042314

what to ask pre surgery http://www.valvereplacement.org/for...68-Pre-surgery-consultation-list-of-questions

what to take with you to the hospital http://www.valvereplacement.org/forums/showthread.php?13283-what-to-take-to-the-hospital-a-checklist