How old when you had an AVR

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
J

Joe Parker

I am a newbie so here is the rundown, I am 40 y/o healthy male, three kids, on wife and and going to have my aortic valve replaced in January '04. I've been reading this forum and other and have not really encountered anyone who has had this procedure done at my age and what they chose and why.
I am going to have my surgery done at Mt. Diablo hospital in Concord, CA by DR. Rolf Sommerhaug considered one of the best in the area. He and my cardiologist have told me to go with the St. Jude valve but I am also leaning towards a tissue valve. I am obviously concerned about coumadin and stroke risk and some bleeding. I am an avid fisherman and on a good day i am cut up and stuff. I could get some kevlar gloves for my hands however. I also like to bike ride and have had to pass up the last two 100 mile rides around Lake Tahoe mostly since I don't think I am training as well as I used to. I am also planning of taking my boys backpacking starting next year.
Mostly I am worried about the risk of strokes and bruises go away. Overall I am healthy and have no family heart disease. In fact my mother and father and uncles and aunts are big smokers and drinkers and many in their 80's and have not had a heart attack yet. I don't do those sort of things however. OK I like a good beer once and a while.
So any 40 year olds who have had this done or had it done when they were about 40 and what did you put in and how are you doing?
Joe Parker
[email protected]

Hi Joe-

Just wanted to welcome you to the site. It's a great place with lots of wonderful people.

There are several folks about your age and some even younger who have had or are going to have this surgery. And there are enough bike enthusiasts to start a bike cross-country marathon. They'll be along soon to lend a hand.