Flu Shot

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
just FYI i saw some recent posts about this in either the home INR group or the active living group. anyway what i saw was the majority of people on coumadin still get a flu shot and that it does not affect their INR. I don't know for sure personally though. I have not had surgery yet, so i am still a newbie. I hope you find your answer though. check out those other two forums, the posts i saw were recent.

great question, I was thinking not only flu but H1N1 or whatever the swine flu is called! I was planning on getting those this year, and don't know of any reason why not?

Call and ask your doctors. They are the best to answer what is best for you. My docs all want me getting flu shots and I get them.

My drs have always encouraged me to get the flu shot every single year plus the pneumonia shot every 5 years. When I had my last OHS in Mar/06, that fall I got my flu shot without fail.

So my advice is if it is available get it. I already got mine & I'm waiting for the swine flu vaccine next month.

I will be getting BOTH. I did not get sick from last year's shot, if anything just a little aches and pains but nothing serious. I don't want to take any chances.

My flu shot is scheduled for next week. I'm not sure I'm going to bother with H1N1 --- yet.

Not only is the flu shot generally recommended, but people who've had AVR, MVR and several other forms of OHS are considered special needs people, and are included in those who are authorized go-to-the-head-of-the-line shots during shortages.

Naturally, you'll want to check with your doctor, but it would be very unusual for it not to be recommended.

Best wishes,

I've been wanting to get in and get the flu shot (our Walgreens has them on a walk-in basis at any time.) But I've had this dumb cold that's hung on for about 2 weeks.