aprox.3 weeks post 2nd surgery

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

virginian777

well surgery was 2-14-13 left hospital 22nd feb stayed at home for a week and all most went completely crazy so i went back to work.i work in a office and don't do much so i was safer there then home because i am in the process of remodleing my house and i would have over done it for sure.had my follow up wish yesterday dr said all looked good don't like the pacemaker they put in but i guess i will get used to it.

What's wrong with the pacemaker? Not enough chrome? Just kidding. Give it time. Once the settings are optimized for you and all the wires and wounds heal, you will eventually not even think about it. As I've said before, I only really realize I have mine when I look in a mirror with my shirt off. Otherwise, it has become just "part of me."

I'm not an expert on pacemakers (yet), but I think it is important that you tell your pacemaker doc about the lifestyle you led before surgery and how you plan to live after. Tell them about your physical activities, intensity, plans, travel plans - be sure they know what demands you want to place on the pacemaker. They should then be able to tell you the specific adjustments that they can do with your device. All of them have ways to adjust minimum and maximum paced heart rate. (If your natural pacing sometimes works, and if it goes higher than your pacer goes, the pacer lets natural pacing take over.) Most also have "rate responsive" features that can sense when extra demand is placed on your heart and increase your heart rate accordingly. In the early stages of recovery from valve surgery they may want to set things low to allow healing to take place. This is OK as long as they will readjust things once your heart has healed more. Also, if you are going to do cardiac rehab, the rehab tech's can often see whe