Any archery hunters

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

texsc

I am scheduled for a minimal invasive AVR on Tuesday. I love to bow hunt. I was wondering if any of you have had this surgery that bow hunt could tell me how long it was before you shoot your bow. My doc cant really give me an idea because he never has pulled a bow back but thinks it will be awhile. I will take as long as I need was just wondering if anyone had any experience with this.

Thanks Bryan

While I am not a bow hunter, I still do on occasion, compete in indoor archery leagues. After I had my 3rd OHS in 2006, I picked up my bow to participate in an indoor archery shoot in the Spring of 2007. I was pulling back 40 lbs & believe me, that was all I could muster. (When I started shooting practice for that tournament, I was started at 35 lbs & worked myself up to 40 lbs.) And I'm happy to report I came in 2nd place of which I was very proud! :)

Depending on how you are feeling, after your surgery, ask your cardio if he thinks it would be a good idea for you to start shooting. I wouldn't consider shooting though until at least 6 months or more, in my opinion. And you are going to have to start at a very minimal weight & gradually work yourself up as I did.

I will be thinking of you on Tuesday & wishing you the very best of luck with your surgery! :)

P.S. I was trying to upload a picture of me in that tournament but could not!

Best of luck with your upcoming surgery. Yeah, it might be a while before you can pull a bow for hunting.. should have close to full ability though, by fall. Just don't try to start too early!

Archery Stuff

Archery Stuff

Hi Bryan,