Afraid of Surgery

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Dodi

Hi Everyone,

I am very glad I found this sight. I am currently waiting for replacement of 2 valves. I have been putting it off for several years, but recently there has been some change in the pressure and the doctor is suggesting that it is time. I keep setting a time of year and when it approaches I don't follow through. I wish that I wasn't so afraid.

I have read several stories on this site and one keeps sticking with me about doing the surgery while you are well or without major symptoms which makes me realize I should. My latest is that I am going to ask my cardiologist to set me up with a surgeon for a consult, I have been putting that off since mid January, but after reading all the info on this site, I am going to promise myself to do that next week.

Jodi..

Jodi..

Hi Jodi,

It is best that you do go and become educated and informed about what is going on with your heart. You don't want to wait until you become really sick. It is the unknown that scares us, but knowledge is power, remember that! The more you know about it, the less scared you will be. It really is not as bad as you think. Everyone you talk with says that the waiting period before surgery is the most difficult.
We all have been where you are today and all of us were scared, believe me! But we will all support you and help you over "the mountain" as we call it. We will hold your hand step by step until you get there.
Please come by often and ask any question you need answered, and someone will come to answer you.
Together we are strong!

Christina

Welcome Dodi

Welcome Dodi