A little early but . . .

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattwisconsin

Green Bay, WI, Columbus, OH, and Chicago, IL.
I am currently 30 and I have an artificial aortic valve, which was put in 17 years ago, originally a BAV. I started experiencing symptoms associated with my aortic stenosis for the first time in 17 years a couple of months ago. Recently they have gotten worse. I have a cardiologist appointment for early January. Unfortunately I travel often and am between places. I am currently living in Athens, Greece. I am a student in Columbus, OH (where my insurance is through), my girlfriend is in Chicago, IL, and my family is in Green Bay and Milwaukee, WI.

Although I don't know exactly what the cardiologist is going to say. I have not felt like this since just before my last surgery.

Basically I am looking for suggestions for surgeons in the Columbus, OH, Chicago, IL, or Milwaukee, WI area that people would think are good at what they do. I am also interested in the Ross Procedure, I know that this might be a little preemptive, since I don't know whether it will be a possibility, but suggestions in those three areas for doctors with a good amount of experience with it would be helpful.

Thank you for any help.

I can't help you with suggestions on surgeons in those ares, but welcome to VR. Glad you found us. I'm sure others more familar with those locations will be along shortly with possible suggestions. Best wishes and good luck.

Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago has one of the best valve surgeons in the world and his team. Dr. Patrick McCarthy

You're 30 and you got 17 years out of your mechanical valve? That's terrific! I have 17 on mine, but I was in my early 30's when I got mine.