What about work?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geckley

I've kind of skirted the issue, but the more information I get the more I'm realizing I might be headed for an employment issue. I get my surgery date at Hopkins probably on October 14th. So I'm looking at late October or early November for my MVR. I'm 38 so probably mechanical. Here's the thing, I'm an Auto Mechanic. Heavy lifting working around electricity and not to mention the machines that don't think we should touch them. Sometimes I think they have teeth and aren't affraid to use them. From all of your personal experiences what do you think? Am I headed for a new carreer? What limitations do you guys with mechanical valves have. I know I need to ask my surgeon and I will ask him and both cardiologists that are working on me. Just a little insight before I go.

I have never had any limitations imposed on me by doctors. I have always had "white collar" work but have had a number of physically demanding avocations such as carpentry (framing and finishing), landscaping etc. That activity has never caused any problems.

Ask your surgeon and cardio. I doubt that working around electricity should be a problem. Your risk of cutting yourself might cause some additional problem, but not a lot. The risks of working around heary metal should not be a problem once you've healed since you are young. However, it might also be a good idea to begin to work towards something less strenuous for when you get older. Maybe a "service writer"?

I don't have a mechanical, but from what I hear, even with blood thinners,
life goes on pretty much as usual. You will need a fair amount of time
before you can begin lifting, and heavy lifting I'm sure is fine as long as you