Want to start new exercise routine and lose weight for surgery... Any advice

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Katesmom1007

I am 31 years old, with BAV and 4.7 ascending aneurysm. I have moderate to severe aortic regurgitation. I have quickly become short of breath very often and am experiencing a lot of PAC's and PVC's, which are very annoying. At my appointment 3 weeks ago my cardio said she doesn't want to send me to the surgeon yet because I need to lose weight. She said losing weight will help with recovery and the out come of the surgery. So, I have totally changed my diet and I am down 15 lbs. I need to lose about 60 more. So exercise is what I need.
My question is..... Is it dangerous to start a cardio routine with my condition? And if I do some weight training should I be afraid of the aneurysm?

I am still fairly new to all of this and it is all still scary. All I want is to feel better and be able to keep up with my kids.

Katesmom: I credit what I call "cardiac pre-hab" with getting through my complex surgery without any heart related post-op problems.
About 3 months before surgery I joined the YMCA and walked 2 miles a day on the track in 32 minutes...this was a minute per lap on the inside track. 6 to 7 days per week.
I was 4.5 CM AA, By the time of surgery it had grown to 4.9. I lost 10 lbs before surgery and along with the gym I got myself mentally and spiritually ready for surgery.
I spoke to a psychologist- this helped me get over my fears about the surgery. I also had a script for some anti-anxiety medication which helped me sleep much better.

Good luck...pre-surgery was far worse than recovery.

Thank you for your response. I agree. Getting ready for surgery is awful. I hate just waiting! I want to just go in and get it over with. I'm ready. Let's do this!