Spreadsheet to track echo results??

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rain

My heart has ?global? problems that I would like to track on a spread sheet. I?ve had at least ten echos in the last ten years.

I seem to remember us talking about making one here in the forum a long time ago.... but I don?t remember if anyone ever actually did??

If so ... I?d really, really like to borrow the template. :)

Thanks!!

Here's my email address:

[email protected]

Rain,
I believe Al Capshaw keeps a spreadsheet of his echo results. I haven't seen him on for awhile, so you might have to send him a PM.

My only frustration with doing that would be that from time to time my cardio's echo tech adds or deletes a measurement from the published report. I am not technically "advanced" enough to handle the fluid dynamic equations to make the conversions from things like velocity of aortic jet to average valve area. So, my spreadsheet would be patchy with some blanks. My accounting mind would freak out at not being able to search for patterns!

Seriously, the spreadsheet itself is nothing more than a computerized columnar pad. Setting it up is the easy part. Deciding which statistics or measurements to list and track is a bit more difficult. Then interpreting trends or changes is where it gets interesting. I thought that was part of what the docs are supposed to do. Oh, yeah, I forgot. I, too, have to occasionally ask a doc a question like "What about this or that. . . ?"

Could be a useful tool. Just be careful not to get crazy over insignificant variations. (Rain, I know that you know your situation well enough not to do that, it is just a caution to the new folks who may decide to start tracking things. . . )