Soreness after finger stick

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chaconne

I'm new to the home testing world and have been doing a few practice finger sticks with Unistik Normal and Extra. One thing I notice is soreness around the stick area that lasts up to a few days. This could become a problem for me if I'm testing weekly, since I'm a guitar player.

I'm interested in know other's experiences with this.

It sounds like you may be using the wrong lancets, and squeezing the finger to get the blood out.

What you should be using is 21 gauge (or, if you can't find 21s, 26 gauge) lancets, set to the deepest setting. I think that you're using the lancets designed for blood glucose testing. These are 31 or 33 gauge - very fine - and don't make a deep or large enough incision to gt the necessary drop of blood. (If you need 21 gauge lancets - I have a lifetime supply - send me an IM and I'll send you a box).

You've probably seen lots of threads about finger preparation -- but I'll repeat here. Wash your hand(s) in warm water, dry thoroughly. A lot of people use the alcohol wipes that you can get at a pharmacy -- I haven't had problems with infection so I don't use them. Some people swing their hands over their heads to dry them - it also draws the blood into the fingers. You can gently squeeze below your knuckle, and this will help make the blood pool in the fingertip. Finally, don't be afraid to apply a bit of pressure to the lancing device -- if you don't push it against the fingertip, you may not get an adequate incision or large enough drop of blood.