Sensitivity of Dosing

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cameron

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
Team,
I have been running at a dose level of between 70-77mg/week for some 7 months since surgery on 22 Jan 2009. I home test weekly and have found that I seem to be quite sensitive to relatively small dose changes - 70mg seems too low as I trend down, and 77mg is too high as I trend up. I have tried alternating from 10 to 11mg/day to get a weekly dose of anywhere from 73 to 74mg/week but still get trends one way or the other. I think I read elsewhere that the bigger the dose you are on the more sensitive to changes you are. Currently I am not comfortable enough to go to 2 week testing when I see how my weekly numbers can vary. My preferred range is 2.5 to 3.5 and I have been trying for 3. Over the 7 months I have come up from chronically at the low 2's to now high 3's but seem to vary with very small dose changes. I don't mind testing every week (cost of a high end coffee!) but would like to know if this level of sensitivity to a few % points of dose change is to be expected. Do I have to split a 1mg to get 73.5;)!!
Thanks,
Cameron

Hi Cameron!
I am on a very low dose (18 mg) per week and am also very sensitive to changes.
Adjusting by 1mg per week is a big thing for me and I rarely do it.
When I want to tweak a bit, usually when my INR is a bit high at 4, then I just eat more broccoli.
It's YUMMY, nutritous, and it brings my INR down to 3.2 over 2 weeks.