Questions About Complications & Setbacks

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jag004

Im sorry to be a Debbie Downer, but Im trying to get a grip on how my next 12-18 months will go after just having AVR 18 days ago. I know I should take 1 day at a time, but I cant help but wonder about the future.

1) What are some of the biggest complications or setbacks associated with AVR? And, when are those most likely to happen? I know every recovery is different, but it seems that its rare that someone goes all the way thru their recovery scott free.

2) When am I likely out of the danger zone associated with setbacks? Someone told me never.....is this true?

I only had my surgery a couple of months ago, so I'm far from an expert. The reality is we're never out of the "danger zone". There are always issues to be concerned with, whether it be increased stroke risk, ACT, or a future surgery. Not to mention endocarditis. For me that is the possible future complication that I'm most concerned with. But all of these things pale in comparison to the issues we faced before AVR.

1) ........I know every recovery is different, but it seems that its rare that someone goes all the way thru their recovery scott free.

2) When am I likely out of the danger zone associated with setbacks? Someone told me never.....is this true?