Powerball

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

Douglas Riley

This is my first post but I've been visiting this site for a few years now. I have a question for anyone out there. I received a Powerball at Christmas for strengthening the wrist and forearms but on reading the instructions it said it was not to be used by anyone with any heart conditions. On the assumption that having my mitral valve replaced (mechanical) I now didn't really have a "condition". What do you think? Regards to all. Doug.

Ok, you've got me - what is a Powerball? Anyway, the best person to ask is one of your docs or an exercise therapist. How long ago was your surgery? I think the use would depend on what you do with the Powerball, and how those motions would affect your sternum, if you are still in the healing stages.

Sorry I'm not much help, but just wanted to welcome you - if you've been lurking for a while and decided to jump in, you are a brave one !

Is this it?
http://www.dynaflex-intl.com/
Send them an email (and post if you find anything). I would suspect it's just lawyerly language. If you use it, don't hold your breath (valsalva).
For the "heart condition" part of your question, here's what the American College of Cardiologists thinks: "Patients who have undergone valve replacement are not cured but still have serious heart disease. They have exchanged native valve disease for prosthetic valve disease and must be followed with the same care as patients with native valve disease...".

It will be a good exercise for the hands tto count the money you win with 'powerball'.

As for the exercise power ball, how heavy is it? or how much stress does it cause you?
I echo above friends, it is best to check with you doctor.