Post-op transition from prescribed narcotics to OTC meds (Advil vs. Tylenol)

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SB42

Hi all,

I thought I would pass on this information that I recently found out. After I was released from the hospital, I was given Dilaudid (40 count) for pain management. I now know that Dilaudid is a serious narcotic that I guess can be very addictive because when I asked for more, the surgeon / cardiologist said, "no way." My general Dr. then prescribed me Hydrocodone (generic for Vicodin). Started taking that, but soon found out that I responded well to Advil. Would take Hydrocodone after those horrible coughing spouts due to the fluid buildup in my lungs (as we all know is common with OHS). So I continued taking Advil to manage my pain...

Here is the interesting fact that I recently found out....first off, I am not a doctor, but my father-in-law is a world renowned orthopedic surgeon. I was telling him how I was able to make the switch to OTC (over the counter) meds (i.e. Advil). He told me I would be better off taking Tylenol as Advil supposedly has ingredients (don't ask me what they are) that SLOWS the bone healing process. Guess what, I am now using Tylenol as my pain medication without having to use maximum daily usage - LOL

Just food for thought as my post is intended for informational purposes only, I recommend that you direct any of your specific medication questions to your specific medical resources! In other words, don't take my word for it ;)

Best,

Scott

Thanks.

Post op, after coming off the Dilaudid I was only given Tylenol and was specifically told not to take Advil. Perhaps that was the reason. :)

Does support my statement, Roberta....thanks for having my back ;)

Interesting, Hydrocodone (generic Vicodin) actually has Tylenol in it...so you CAN NOT mix both!