Please tell me about some coping strategies you use or used to deal with heart issues

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roxx

Could be either pre-op or post op....
But what were some strategies or coping skills, or things you did to relax leading up to tests, results, changes in meds, procedures...etc..
With my doctor now calling my "situation" an aneurysm, I am going outta my mind here.
I don't know if I should say anything to my family or not?
I am now on Metroprolol, which I have taken now for 3 days, the wife & kids will see the medicine bottle sooner or later.
I have always been a very cautious weightlifter....ie: never did red faced heavy lifts or grunts.... but with a 4.1cm assending aorta, can I really lift NOTHING now?
He said "jog and aerobics all you want but no weights." ...... I have been lifting 6 days a week since I was 15 years old (20+ years ago).....
I just don't know about all this...... I am having a major poor pitiful me moment here..... but I have always ate right, exercised daily, avoided smoke, and alcohol all my life.....
And now.... I am basically told I am disabled. No weights, no sports, no shoveling the snow....etc..... in that case.....why work? If I am disabled in my personal life with restrictions on evvvverything then we better restrict a 8 hour work day too right? Sorry gang, I am normally a super positive person, and I am trying really hard to not blow a proverbial gasket here and hold it together for my wife & kids..... but I don't see anyway that I can lay all this "heart talk" on them, and then say "oh yeah, and in addition..... I am confined to bed....can't play anything, can't do sports, can't lift a weight, can't take out the trash, can't carry groceries in the house..... after all, doctors orders."