New to the site, with questions (insurance and calcium)

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nia

Hello, I am new to this amazing site and have few questions, one about insurance and the other about calcium.

1) I am 22 years old female with CE bovine valve (MVR Dec. 2003). I had no known medical conditions prior to this. I have a year until college graduation (I took a semester off following the surgery) and am wondering what my real chances are of getting health insurances after college. Will I be rejected for a group insurance policy that a company provides? All insurances have the pre-existing conditions clause. Even if I could get a health insurance as an employer benefit, will the insurance company actually pay for my second replacement surgery? I am aware that getting a private insurance is pretty much impossible, but, if I can?t get insurance through work, that would be very, very bad.

2) The Edwards Sciences webpage (http://www.edwards.com/PatientsAndFamilies/MyHeart/CareAfterSurgery/ )says in their ?Diet and Exercise? section that calcium supplements shouldn?t be taken without your doctor?s approval. I asked about this to my cardiologist, and she said I could take supplements but eating a balanced diet is enough, which made sense. However, because ?no calcium supplement? was on the website of my valve?s manufacturer, I am worried if taking excess calcium will speed up the calcification process of my valve. Is that what happens? Does that mean people with tissue valves should not drink too much milk or calcium-enriched orange juice? I really don?t want to get osteoporosis but I don?t want my valve to calcify too quickly either?