My granddaughter may need OHS again years down the road

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Debbrn

Background: I have history of tetralogy of fallot, I am a nurse and I have had to fight to get the care I need. With all of this I know a lot about the evaluation and treatment of tetralogy of fallot.

Before my granddaughter was discharged from the hospital after birth her parents were told over the phone by the cardiologist that their newborn daughter had tetralogy of fallot and would need open heart surgery. After discharge they were able to see the doctor in person at a doctor's appointment for further evaluation and explanation. They were told again that she had tetralogy, but was told that her pulmonary valve was not involved. They were in fact given a piece of paper with the specific defects and the pulmonary valve problem was not involved. Being skeptical i had the parents ask the doctor at the next appointment specifically about the pulmonary valve and they were again told that it was fine. She had a repair at 6 months in which the pulmonary valve was not touched. The surgeon said it was not necessary. When the mom asked immediately after surgery if she would need another surgery the surgeon said "no". I was there. Low and behold the echo 3 months after surgery showed pulmonary valve leakage. She went for a follow-up this week at the age of 2 1/2. The mother was told that "the heart was enlarged and that she had a 50% chance of needing open heart surgery again as a teenager. The father was not there. The mother could not recall that they had ever said that she may need OHS again. The father thought that they had been told that at some point.