Long term Bjork-shiley mitral valve recipient!!

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aliceann

I’m a newbie to this site. I haven’t seen many postings by people who had valves replaced in their younger years, so with this in mind, here is MY story.
I was born in 1961, with multiple congenital heart defects, along with dextrocardia. With annual visits to a wonderful pediatric cardiologist, I was able hold off on any surgery until I was 8. I lived in Maine, and the surgeon skills here at that time were not advanced enough to handle my scenario, so I had the surgery in Feb, 1969 at the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota. Looking back, I can say ‘ignorance is bliss’. I had NO idea what was to come, other than I was getting my first airplane ride. The nurses, physicians and staff at St. Mary’s were all amazing. The mitral valve was repaired, along with the common atrium. Relief of infundibular and valvular pulmonary stenosis was also achieved.
A follow-up visit in 1975 to the Mayo clinic revealed no drastic changes, and my condition remained status quo. Returning, again, to the Mayo Clinic in 1980, at the age of 18, I DID need surgery to repair/replace my mitral valve. I was cautioned that if I received a mechanical valve, I’d be on anticoagulant therapy the rest of my life, and pregnancy would require some serious consideration. Going IN to surgery, I had no idea if the valve could be replace, or what type of replacement I’d receive if a repair could not be done.
In recovery I was given the news that I had indeed received a mechanical valve…..NOT happy. I learned to live with the constant ‘ticking’ of the mechanical valve, and am actually comforted by the sound today.