Leery of Coumadin

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
K

Kathie

Hi,

I am new to this marvelous forum, although I have been lurking in the shadows for some time.

I am going to need an aortic and mitral valve replacement in the future and don't know what to do. I am 52, and don't want to have this surgery again - once will be enough, thank you.

I have always bruised VERY easily since childhood and am on Altace for heart, Xanax and Celexa for depression and anxiety, and fiornial for migraines. If I go with the mechanical valves, will I still be able to take coumadin? Do they just adjust it according to the meds I am taking? Very confused.....

Kathie :)

Hi Kathie and thank you for posting instead of lurking!

Yes, you'll have to take Coumadin and the dosage will be adjusted with your other meds. It's not the big ugly monster that it's sometimes made out to be. Take comfort in the knowledge that many others take it everyday and it's almost like taking any other pill.

Read around the other threads and ask questions until your satisfied and have all the knowledge that your brain can handle. I'm sure Al Lodwick will say a thing or two here too. In the meantime, you can check his site out for more information at
www.warfarinfo.com

Great to see you posting! ;)

Welcome, Kathie!

Welcome, Kathie!

Welcome - I think a lot of us lurked for a while before we finally jumped in.