INR/Bleeding question

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jason

Always Assume Positive Intent
Hey everyone, I'm back with another question to pick your brains. I am fairly new to the INR/warfarin medication thing, as you know. I went in to the INR clinic yesterday, and they came up with a 2.2 for an INR, and since my target is 2.5-3.5, they bumped my dose slightly up from what it was. No issues there, it was expected and followed the online coumadin dosing calculator exactly.

This morning my wife and I went for a 3 mile walk/jog, and when we got back I noticed I had a streak of fresh blood down my arm. I washed it off and didn't think too much of it. Then I went out in the garden and was weeding for about an hour. Partway through the gnats (or some other annoying bug, not a mosquito) came out and started swarming me. They were biting little buggers, and I kept swatting them to kill them. Somewhere along the way I noticed my gloves had blood on them, and my first thought was the spot on my arm had started bleeding again. I started looking, and I had several blood streaks down both arms and legs, and it was where the gnats were biting.

My question is, is this the new 'normal' for me at target INR? My first thought was that maybe my INR was higher than the machine said, but it is a coagucheck xs at the INR clinic, so I assume that it is pretty accurate. Just looking for others' experience to know if this is something that is to be expected or not. Thanks, and hope you are having as nice of a weekend as we are here!