I'm new to this and would appreciate your feedback

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mooney

Hi everyone. I am new here and glad to have found this forum. Here is a brief run down of my story, and I am looking for some advice on what to do next.

40 yr old male, no health issues, no medications. About six months ago started to feel my heart beating noticeably when trying to sleep. Also felt some chest pangs or pains now and then. I bought a BP monitor and it showed my pressures somewhat elevated, 130’s over 70’s and 80’s. I didn’t really do anything about it, and the symptoms were quite mild so I just dismissed it as stress.

Fast forward to end of June, I was en route to a client meeting and REALLY felt the heart beating fast and strong. A real pounding. It lasted a good hour or so and subsided. But that was enough to freak me out somewhat, so I made an appt to see my PCP.

He examined me, did EKG, everything fine, but then when listening to my heart he says “how long have you had this murmur?” Say what?? No one ever mentioned it before…so he sends me for blood work and an echocardiogram…blood work fine, the echo showed "left ventricle and right ventricle normal in size and function. Both atria normal. Bileaflet mitral valve prolapse, posterior greater than anterior. Moderate MR. Mild TR. Trace PR. No pericardial effusion.". I am told this is not a big deal, many people have it, suggests I keep up the exercise, no restrictions, but since this is a new murmur he is referring me to a cardiologist…