I'm having valve replacement surgery on August 13th

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WilliamJE

This is my first post to the forum. I just learned about it yesterday.

Warning- This is going to be long. My spelling isn't the greatest and some of my usage of some terms may be off. My learning of my heart condition only taking place in the last 8 or 9 days. I haven't had the chance to thoroughly educate myself yet.

To help anyone reading this post, I put in links to some of my past health or personal experiences. I've been blogging for over 3 years at various websites, frequent participant at golf forum set up similar to this one, and been a member of a Melanoma support group for most of a decade. I've shared bits of my life story before.

My name is Bill and I live in South Florida. For 19 years I been married to Leonita. We have no living children. A son we had who we named Daniel died 14.5 hours after his birth in 2003. So its just us except for our two cats. My mother-in-law(Who I get along with great) is out of the country visiting her other children at this time.

To start my story properly, I better go back to 2005. That's when I suffered a Pulmonary embolism or PE. It taking place almost exactly three years to this date. I had what is called a saddle emboli, and was very lucky to survive. Ever since the 2005 PE, I've been on a daily dosage of coumadin.

Because of the PE, I was hospitalized for ten days. During the stay I spent 4 days in the SICU plus had a filter placed in my neck to prevent future PEs. While I was in the hospital I was told about spots on my adrenal glands. Since I am a malignant melanoma survivor, tests were done after I left the hospital to see if my cancer had metastized. A couple of MRIs and a Pet scan were all negative.