How scared should I be?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moddeydhoo

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
Hi. I am new to all this and so thankful I found this forum. Some invaluable information from a wealth of experience.
My aortic valve was replaced Feb 3 this year, so I am about 10 weeks post op. Don't ask me anything technical I don't yet have enough knowledge to answer you.
Now to the real question. I am struggling to get my INR up to the recommendation of between 2 and 3. I have a local lab and test weekly. I started on 4mg of warfarin daily and through recommendations from my cardiologist I have been increasing at 10% so that I am now up to 6mg a day. My INR is sitting at 1.39 and won't budge!!!!
Confession time. I like to have a beer and have a couple of Chang in the evening (live in Thailand) also my gf, who is an exceptional cook, does ply me with a lot of veggies.
I have read through a number of feeds and the consensus, if I am correct, is dose to diet not diet to dose. This was confirmed by my cardiologist by him saying as long as you are consistent, the dose can be adjusted.
Can anyone offer some suggestions aside from totally abstinence and withdrawing from what I consider to be a normal life.
Many of the medical journals being quoted by the medical professionals here are dated 2006 or earlier.
Thanks in advance for any guidance.