Heart rate limitation

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sten Osis

I'm now about 5 weeks post-surgery and saw my cardiologist yesterday. He wants me to stay on the Metropolol
and not exceed 145bpm for 3 more months. I thought wow, how am I going to ride my bike and keep it under 145?
I was really getting excited to be able to get out riding again once I pass the magic 8 week mark, but now it looks like I'm not going to be able to open the throttle or even ride up a hill.

I'm going to follow his instructions but I wonder what others have had to do with their heart rate during and after recovery?
I haven't had any complications yet, but I think he was worried about to high an HR bringing on A-fib.

Mike

I am not sure the metoprolol will let you get your heart rate over 145. I started riding at about 12 weeks, due to winter conditions and was on metorprolol at that time. I had a had time getting my heart rate over 120. Weeks later when I was off the med I was able to get it to 150 -155 which was as high as I felt I could go.

I usually ride limestone path at 13 to 14 mph average with a few small hills.

I think they want you to keep rate down in order to allow the heart to go through its remodeling as it resizes. I know I was told my left ventricle had gotten enlarged but came back to normal size a few months after surgery.

I agree with the others, it takes time! I was not on any BB’s and so I didn’t have any drug related restrictions on my HR – I’m a runner so you know my HR gets up there. During the first 6 months after OHS I would only run for a minute if mine got up to 160BPM – I didn’t go far to say the least and it was SOOOOO frustrating… but easing into was worth it for me.

Now I don’t even pay attention to it.

It does take time…..