Have a date set

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rnff2

Hi everyone. This is my first post, I have been looking around for a couple of months. I scheduled surgery last week for subaortic membrane removal and possible aortic valve replacement on Nov 20th. I will have a cath on Nov 12th to look at the aortic valve to determine if it needs to be replaced. I had the subaortic membrane removed 23yrs ago at the age of 14 (and it has come back), I'm 37 now. I am so glad to have found this site. It makes me feel "normal" about all of the anxieties (stress) I am having about all of "this". I am an emergency department nurse (and past transplant coordinator) and have all kinds of medical knowledge, and I often think, actually too much knowledge when it comes to me. To top it all off my husband, 4yr old son and I are leaving on a cruise next week. Both my cardiologist and surgeon have cleared me to go. I am not having the surgery at the hospital I work at, I am actually going to the hospital I had the first surgery at. I have also had the privilege to work alongside and see my surgeon perform heart transplant surgery at this hospital. So I am very comfortable with my decision on who and where my surgery is taking place.

So that's a little, well alot, about me, thank you all for contribuiting to a board such as this.

Kerri

Welcome, and good luck with your surgery. Mine is next week,, so i can imagine your stress level..but this place is great, and helps alot. Wonderful people here.

Welcome! Lots of luck (well you already know what you are going to go through :)......wishing you good luck with the surgery, and have a great time on the cruise...!