Cause of aortic valve insuffiency and sclerosis

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tasha946

Hi all, I am new here. Was just diagnosed with "mild to moderate" aortic insuffenciency and sclerosis. I have not yet met with the cardiologist or my GP. After researching the numbers, they all appear to be in the mild range to me, but anyway I am just beginning to learn. I am wondering today about why this has happened to me. I do not recognise any of the causes that I have seen on the internet as applying to me. Are there reasons other than the typical or are there unknown causes?? Does it just sometimes happen without a given reason or should I be investigating other health issues that I might not know I have??
Thank you so much for any thoughts you might have on this subject!
Tasha

With "mild to moderate" numbers, I'm guessing that your Doctors will just recommend "Watching and Waiting" with regularly scheduled EchoCardiograms every couple of years until they see more progression.

I'm wondering how / why you were diagnosed. I would guess an Echocardiogram but that begs the question of WHY. I *assume* that you obtained a copy of your Test Results. GOOD for you...That is exactly what an informed patient should do.

FYI, Medical Modifiers progress as follows

NO / None
Trace
Mild
Moderate
Severe
Critical

'AL Capshaw'

Yes, watch and wait. My doctor ordered the echo because I have been breathless going up stairs and unusually tired. Also I had a strange "episode" where the only way I can describe it is it was like an adrenalin rush up through my chest partway down my arms that lasted a minute or two. (for no apparent reason) I was also somewhat dazed. I ended up in the ER but nothing was found. Don't know what that was??

I am trying to figure out why my valve is damaged. I cannot find anywhere where I fit in under *causes?*