Can't wait until I can start home testing!

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jax

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
I can't wait until I can start home testing my inr. It just irks me when I go into to get my inr checked and I don't hear anything. Went to the hospital yesterday morning at 10 in the morning and I am still waiting to hear my results. Also went so far as to call the doctors office but ofcourse had to leave a message. And still haven't heard anything after an hour. I think I am on the high side because it took awhile to stop bleeding and the cotton swab was cover when I got home. Needless to say I am being as cautious as I can not to cut myself. But jeeze it shouldn't take this long to find out inr results. Normally when I am at the hospital by 10 or 10:30 I have been called with results by 2 that day. I am just beginning. To get impatient with the hospital and doctor's office. Sorry for the rant.

You're more than 3 months out of surgery, so be sure and talk to your doctor about it first chance you get. It's not rocket science. My doctor had me lined up for self testing right after my 1 month appointment post-surgery.

Already have the prescription form mailed in so hopefully it won't be too long. Just don't like waiting for test results especially when I know it doesn't take that long to get it done.

Already have the prescription form mailed in so hopefully it won't be too long. Just don't like waiting for test results especially when I know it doesn't take that long to get it done.

I can so sympathise with you! After my op, for about the first 3 months, I went to the lab attached to my GP's practice for INR tests. I would go early in the morning, but most of the time they never called back the same day - really frustrating:mad::mad: Especially if you are wondering what dose you need to take!