AVR after a CABG

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigOwl

Hi folks; I'm a newbie here, and have enjoyed reading through some of the threads--especially the ones on choices. But I haven't read anything yet from someone in my particular position, and since I'm just in the pre-planning stages (expect replacement surgery in early April) I thought I'd see if anyone had been through anything like this.

I'm a 61 year-old college teacher with familial hypercholesterolemia, who had a 4-vessel CABG in 1995. I was out of the hospital in three days, and back to work three weeks after surgery (mainly because my husband was subbing in my classes and scaring the bejeeziz out of my students). Since I could sit while lecturing and put my feet up on a chair, I had a fairly easy time of it. My insurance didn't pay for rehab, though, and I ended up doing it myself by using a ski machine.

Over the last fourteen years, I've been maxed out on Lipitor (80) and Niaspan (2000), plus (more recently) Zetia and two blood-pressure meds, along with full-dose aspiring. So, obviously, adding another to a post-surgical regimen isn't going to be a problem. The meds have brought my total down from 487 pre-bypass to under 200, with good high HDL and continuously lowering LDL and triglycerides. I've maintained a decent diet over the years, but have a high stress job and have slacked off on exercise, so my weight has exacerbated my diagnosed stenotic aortic valve.

I don't have a lot of symptoms, except for occasional SOB and my particular brand of angina (tightening across my shoulders in response to stress and anxiety), but after the pre-stress test echo in November, the doc wouldn't let me get on the treadmill, and after the resting echo my Cardio guy described the situation in terms of "pumping blood through a pinhole."