Warfarin Newbie

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
D

DavidMac

Hi
I am new to this amazing website and am so thankful I found it!

I am 3 weeks post op and things are going well. As a newbie to Warfarin (I am on Coumadin) I am slowly distilling what I should be aware of, what I shouldn't worry about and what I should act on.
So far the advice I have been given has been pretty general which can be summed up as: JUST BE CONSISTENT.

My INR levels are still leveling out. When I left hospital it was at 2.6, then fell to 2.5 a few days later and now its at 2.0 since Monday. My cardio wants it up at the 3.0 region. I realise it can take a while to work out the right dosage, right? So this is normal.

So my question to all you Warfarin Veterans! What advice would you give a newbie about to embark on this lifetsyle adjustment.

Cheers and hello from sunny Sydney, Australia!
David

JUST BE CONSISTENT! :D

Seriously David, eat as you normally would. The best way, at least for me, is to stay with what you like and let the dosing fall into place with what you like to eat. If your going to deviate, watch the High Vit K content things. If you need a link or two for foods high in Vit K, just yell. I'm in no way saying stop eating High Vit K things but rather, use common sense.

What dose are you taking currently?
How often are they checking your INR?
What other medications are you on?

I ask because it's unbelievable at how many places do not know how to manage coumadin patients properly. Sometimes it's the manager that has you bouncing all over the place because of making dosage adjustments when there isn't really any need too.

Hi David-