Valve replacement??

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bbuck

well, here's the scoop, I'm 46, have a BV, and my aorta is dilated to 4.8 cm. I have moderate regurge, and I get short of breath under activity.
I know it will depend on what my doc says, but I dont get to see him for at least a month. Anyone want to venture a guess as to the doc. recommending replacement within the year?

Hi bbuck

I am not a doctor and I do not know the details of your situation, but as soon as I experienced symptoms a month or so ago, I was urged to have surgery to replace. Be prepared, mentally, for sooner rather than later and worse case, it will be later ;)

Good luck & Happy New Year,

SB42

I'm no doctor but I 1up what SB42 posted. Sounds like it may be worse than moderate to feel symptoms. No big deal just start doing research now and make a valve choice. BTW I'm in a restroom stall at work 5 months post op and can hear my valve tick away LOL.

Hi bbuck. Welcome, you have found one of the very best sources of information for new...and old, heart valve patients. Since your follow up appointment is not for a month or so, surgery seems not to be immanent. You will find many on here with situations and stories similar to yours. The good new is that OHS is only a "blip" and then life goes on:thumbup:

bbuck,

I had a very similar condition and symptoms as you as you see in my signature. I's say it's likely he will recommend it within a year. The moderate regurgitation can wait but the aneurism and the SOB symptom calls for the AVR to be done sooner.

bbuck, why do I feel I have a stutter with your handle, a heart felt WELCOME to our OHS family glad you are getting the information that you are seeking and there is swealth of knowledge here for the future .....