Self Testing

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

big_L

Big surprise with the surgeon's nurse today. The surgeon told us that self-testing was great and he was all in favor of it. Not that I wasn't going to do it, even if I need to buy it all out of my own pocket. The nurse tells me today that I'm the first patient that ever asked about it. She starts on the home health nurse. I tell her that I'm an analytical chemist and my wife is an ex-Med Tech with a Master's in Library Science (Medical Specialty) - I think we can handle self testing. She backed off and is starting to pursue it for us.

I really need an Rx from the Dr - right?

Yeah. With the proper training, you can probably handle it.

As far as a doctor's Rx is concerned, it depends on your insurance company (if you are trying to get them to provide a meter), or on your source for the meter, or something. As for myself, I have multiple meters, including a new, unused Coag-Sense meter, and I didn't have to have an Rx to get any of them. I bought these meters on eBay, and usually bought my supplies on eBay (although I've also bought strips from medical supply companies). It may partly depend on whether you want to go out of pocket on the testing, or will try to get assistance from an insurer.

Some on this forum use services like Philips or Alere which send you a machine and supplies, provide a call in number for reporting your INR, contact your doctor (because you're presumably too stupid to dial the doctor's number), and charge an arm and a leg for the service. I haven't used these services, so this is all hearsay.

Self-testing IS great -- it gives the tester a feeling of empowerment and control and, according to some research, those who self-test spend more time in therapeutic range than patients who don't.