New to Group and have many questions

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Faye

Hi,
My name is Faye. I'm a 46 year young woman. I'm married with 4 children - 3 are married, and I have one darling grandson! I work full-time as a training consultant and up until recently spent a lot of my time traveling for my job.

I had a co-arctation of the aorta diagnosed at age 1 and repaired at age 2. A recent MRI showed that the repaired area still looks great 40+ years later!

I have always known that I have a bicuspid aortic valve and it would likely require replacement. Well...the time has come. During my last regular check-up, my cardiologist said it was time to get the ball rolling. At first I was totally at peace and grateful that I live in a time when the replacement is possible. But now....the fear is sneaking in.

I have a heart cath scheduled this Thursday and plan to schedule the surgery as soon afterwards as possible - hopefully somtime the week of August 27th. The worry and anxiety have got to be worse than the actual thing! My doc told me that a few months after surgery, I'll feel better than I have in a long time. Is that really true?

I am nervous about the heart cath - any words of advice??

I'm also looking for any advice on how to prepare for and recover from the surgery.

I am very happy to have found this group and have spent quite a bit of time reading your posts. Thank you for sharing!

Hi Faye and welcome to the funny farm.

Your right, waiting and such is much worse then the actual thing. It's perfectly normal to have fear. In fact, if you didn't have any, I'd advise a psych consult. The pain is well managed and isn't nearly what your imagining. Don't get me wrong, it's not a walk in the park, but it is doable. Most people do feel better then they have in a long time. Yes, it's true, for most people.