Mitral Valve Regurgitation

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
R

raelen

This is my first time to this forum. The info is very good, but I have some questions.

I've been experiencing rapid heartbeat, fatigue, light-headedness and resulting headaches. Just learned I have mitral leakage. I'm assuming it's mild because surgery wasn't mentioned. I was taking 3 gr Thyroid at the time so my cardiologist cut that in half to see if it would help. I thought it did at first, but now am experiencing all those same symptoms and in general feel really bad most of the time.

I don't know whether to contact my cardiologist again or not. I've been under a lot of stress recently with my husband having two surgeries 6 weeks apart and the doctors and hospital being a 3 hr drive away. There have been a lot of trips and of course, the surgeries and recuperations put a strain on the well too.

Sorry for the long post. I just want to know if it's normal for me to feel this way.

Thanks!

Hi Raelen-

Welcome to the site. I'm sorry you're having mitral valve problems, but there are lots of folks here that have had the same thing, some have had surgery and some are in a watching mode. I think you'll find that the people here are very supportive, and you will have a group of built-in friends who understand the things you are feeling, medically.

My husband is the patient here and has had 3 valve surgeries plus loads of other serious medical things.