mechanical vs homograft(human) valve

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
H

HFK

Has anyone ever thought about a human valve vs mechanical , as a nurse I did extensive research on the different types of valves and one huge difference in mech vs human was you never have to take coumadin you take nothing, it also has a less than 1% infection rate compatred to the mechanical and you hear no cliking! ttThe one negative is it lasts about 15 to 25 years so if your 40 you may need another operation at 65 or so , BUT no INRS ect. You need a skilled surgeon who knows how to do the proper procedure. I found out like I am sure all of you did they will not guarentee any valve, they can only state how long most of them MIGHT last but every body is different I know some people with mechanical valves that had to be replaced 3or4 times from infection, clotting etc. with this food for thought would this have made any difference in your decion if you had one or knowing this now would it make a difference. Just thought I would ask .hfk :)

Hi HFK-

That is the biggest question that most people ask, and it is the most debated question. Here is a link that is an exhaustive thread on the subject.

http://valvereplacement.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=304&highlight=Making+the+choice

There are also a large number of older threads on the subject. This is the way to access the older threads.

Go to the Forum Pre-Surgery,Go to the bottom of the page, see where it says "Showing threads---" , click on the part that says "last 30 days", a drop down menu will appear, then click on "the beginning" you'll then see all the posts from the beginning of the new and improved Valvereplacement.com.

You'll have all the reading you want for a while. Happy reading. When you're done we have a test on the subject that we administer. You better get an "A". :D :D