Got mt Inratio 2, but they sent me the wrong lancets - can I use these?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanielB

Hello everyone,

I finally got my hands on my home INR machine today - an Inratio 2 with a starter set of supplies. It was supposed to include a box of (200) the Inratio Unistik 21g lancets, but it came with another brand that is 28g x 1.6mm depth -- are those an okay subsitute or should I be getting on the phone asking for the Unistik ones?

I'm new to this so this size thing is all greek to me.

Thanks!

Dan

Hi Dan,

My Inratio-2 meter came with two varieties of the "thin" 23 gauge (orange color) lancets. I've been using those successfully for about a year. The higher gauge numbers will be thinner needles. You can google to get the exact diameter for each gauge size.

If you get a good drop of blood from the "ultra-thin" 28g lancets, then you are good to go. Usually, you will get an in-home training session from the meter manufacturer representative if you got the meter via prescription. During the in-home training session, you can try out the ultra-thin 28g needle and see if it works well. If not, then you will know that you probably need the thicker (23g) needle and can get a new batch from the Inratio2 folks then. The thicker 23g ("thin") or 21g ("regular") needles should produce more blood at the lancing site, but the ultra-thin 28g needles should hurt less. So, probably best to use the thinnest needle that gives an adequate drop of blood for the test.

Congratulations on joining the home-testing crowd.

For whatever reason, I'm using the 21 gauge lancets. I have HUNDREDS of these lancets -- PM me if you'd like me to send you a box.