Given two options to slow rising INR - which one to do?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanielB

I started a two week course of Bacrim (an antibiotic) for a urintary tract infection last Friday, knowing it can cause my INR to rise. My Coumadin nurse had me test Monday and my level had risen from 2.3 (my norm of late) to 2.6. I did a retest today and it had gone up to 3.4 - higher than I have ever had it. The nurse gave me an option of reducing my dose by half starting tonight, then restesting Tuesday or leave it alone and retest Saturday. I chose the halving of my dose with the retest Tuesday.

Since I am pretty new at the coumadin dosing thing, I would appreciate some input from some of you that have a lot more experience on this sort of thing as to which option may be better a better way to go. I can still change my mind today if if I feel the need. In any case, I'd like to learn more about this situation for future reference.

Thanks!

Dan

Reading the literature on Bactrim since I posted , I see that Bactrim can add as much as 1.76 to one's INR, so I suspect that's why they were thiunking the decreased amount.

My range is 2.0-3.0, dosing is 5MG a day except Tuesday & Thursday when it is 7.5mg.

I wish they could have found another antibiotic other than Bactrim for your infection. Bactrim has one of the most significant interactions with warfarin. You are almost a week on Bactrim, so this may be as high as you go. 3.4 is not terribly high (high therapeutic range from many valves), so I would have no real problem testing Saturday, per chance it might just stay at 3.4 or just slightly higher. BUT sometimes the INR doubles with Bactrim, so your choice to halve your warfarin dose and retest Tuesday would be more consistent with that possibility. I'd do the former.